UNA Pressroom

Phi Kappa Phi At The University Of North Alabama Initiates 138 Members

Apr. 23, 2018

Michelle Eubanks, UNA, at media@una.edu, 256.765.4392 or 256.606.2033

FLORENCE, Ala.-The University of North Alabama chapter of The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi hosted initiation ceremonies April 19 for 138 new members to the national academic honorary. Phi Kappa Phi President Stephanie Montgomery presided over the ceremonies, initiating seven faculty members, two alumni, 48 graduate students and 81 undergraduate students into the prestigious organization. Two ceremonies, one for initiates from the College of Arts and Sciences and the Anderson College of Nursing and the other for the College of Business and College of Education and Human Sciences, were held at the Guillot University Center. To be eligible for membership, juniors must have completed at least 72 semester hours and be in the top 7.5 percent of their class. For juniors this semester, that meant having a grade point average of at least a 3.8481 on a 4.0 grading scale. Seniors must have completed at least 90 semester hours and be in the top 10 percent of their class. For seniors this semester, that meant having a grade point average of at least a 3.7634 on a 4.0 grading scale. Graduate initiates must have completed at least 18 semester hours of graduate work and be in the upper 10 percent of all graduate students. This semester, that meant having a graduate GPA of 4.0. In addition, the local Chapter elects a small number of outstanding faculty, professional staff and alumni each year. They are chosen on the basis of academic record, professional achievements, and service to higher education. Following is a list of 2018 initiates: Faculty Florence, Ala.:Dr. Butler Cain, Dr. Jill Goode Englett, Dr. Scott Infanger, Dr. Jessica Mitchell, Prof. Dhrumil Patel Gurley, Ala.:Dr. Helen Coronel Tuscumbia, Ala.:Dr. Christopher James Alumni Athens, Ala.:Charlotte Perkins Rogersville, Ala.:Erin Letson Graduate Students Anniston, Ala.:Waverly Polak Athens, Ala.:Jordan Brasher Niedzwiecki Birmingham, Ala.:Jay Prosser Clinton, Miss.:Beverly Patrick Corinth, Miss.:Cathy Wood Florence, Ala.:Donald Akanga, Bretta Cagle, Paul Graham, Paige Harrison, Marcy Hill, Katie Howard, Kelly Laster, Alexandra McCarley, Hannah Morris, Shawn Patrick, Lauren Skalnik, Christian Walker, Samantha Weems Fulton, Miss.:Andrea Osbirn Golden, Miss.:Scarlett Davis Hartselle, Ala.:Jennifer Hogan Harvest, Ala.:Byron Thornton Helena, Ala.:Justin Carter Hoover, Ala.:Tara Poe Huntsville, Ala.:Jeanette Atkinson, Paulette Berryman, Caroline Bivens, Donna Saunders Jasper, Ala.:Amanda Hood Madison, Ala.:Christie Lynne Seltmann Muscle Shoals, Ala.:Kathryn Kelsoe, Andrew Mauldin, Elizabeth Skylar McClellan Owens Cross Roads, Ala.:Holly Fowler, Chelsey Harbin Hereford Pace, Fla.:Darren Moore Pell City, Ala.:Jennifer Crumbley Rowe Phil Campbell, Ala.:Tabatha Sutherland Russellville, Ala.:Kelsey Nelms, Tia Stone Sheffield, Ala.:Kristina Stokes Sulligent, Ala.:Tyler Edgeworth Saint Joseph, Tenn.:Cala Flippo Tupelo, Miss.:Lauren Asters Tuscumbia, Ala.:Lori Reynolds Vina, Ala.:Jessica Williams Waynesboro, Tenn.:Mandy Parrish Winfield, Ala.:Sheri White Undergraduate Students Arab, Ala.:Savannah Ogletree, Kelsey Walters Athens, Ala.:Kasey Thornton Baldwyn, Miss.:Julie Grimes Carrollton, Ala.:Caleb Carr Collinwood, Tenn.:Braden Harris, Alden Littlejohn Cordova, Tenn.:Matthew Hachtel Corinth, Miss.:Emma Knight Cypress Inn, Tenn.:Whitney Parker Detroit, Ala.:Ashley Watson Dothan, Ala.:Jordan Clark Enterprise, Ala.:Johnathan Crosby Fayette, Ala.:Julie McDonald Florence, Ala.:Kristen Anderson, Roy Anderson, Rebecca Bush, Emerson Chambers, Katie Clemons, Jacob Fields, Christopher Gorbatoff, Ashton Haralson, Andrew Hill, Geremiah Hogan, Abby Keener, Koby Littrell, Joy McLaughlin, Kijana Mitchell, Darby Nash, Amanda Porter, Olivia Privett, Rebecca L. Rausch, Kelsie Riley, Cameron Shepherd, Kate Singley, Megan Statom, Madison Williams Fulton, Miss.:Jansen Thomas Grand Junction, Mich.:Michaela DeKilder Guntersville, Ala.:Emma Fancher Haleyville, Ala.:Lacie Rowe Hartselle, Ala.:Charlee Brianne Anderson Hillsboro, Ala.:Quanisha Trammell Huntsville, Ala.:Molly Kiel, Carolyn Strong Iuka, Miss.:Jacey Borden Killen, Ala.:Thomas G. Carter, III, Jarrett Vandiver Lawrenceburg, Tenn.:Kati Methvin, Keri Methwin Leighton, Ala.:Jordan Cooper, Kristan Miller, Alison Uhlman Loretto, Tenn.:Courtney King Lynnville, Tenn.:Mary Hunt Moulton, Ala.:Luke Hopper, Savannah Jones Mountain Brook, Ala.:Daniel Neville Mt. Washington, Ky.:Kristen Darby Muscle Shoals, Ala.:Grant Bentley, Meagan Johnson, Cody Rumble Phil Campbell, Ala.:Bethany Sparks, Aaron Kolby Thrasher Prospect, Tenn.:Olivia Hoback Pulaski Tenn.:Alexandra May Rogersville, Ala.:Makinley Barnett Russellville, Ala.:Tyler Hargett, Brooke Williams Savannah, Tenn.:Meagan Morris Sheffield, Ala.:Abigail Sides Town Creek, Ala.:Kimberly Parker, Monica Parker Tuscumbia, Ala.:Nathan Fiscus, Madalan Howard, Shelley Mahaffey, Johnathon Smith, Brenita Softley, Emily Caroline Woods Union Grove, Ala.:Haley Gilbertson Winfield, Ala.:Meredith Mordecai In addition to Prof. Montgomery, other UNA Phi Kappa Phi officers are: Dr. Michael Pretes, past president and director; Nikki Michael, vice president, membership; Sherri Hester, vice president, student selection: Rebecca Hamm, treasurer; Dr. Kristy Oden, secretary; and Madi Winkler and Becky Husha, student vice presidents. Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine and headquartered in Baton Rouge, La., Phi Kappa Phi is the nation's oldest and most selective all-discipline honor society. The Society has chapters on more than 300 college and university campuses in North America and the Philippines. Its mission is "To recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others." Since its founding, more than 1.5 million members have been initiated. Some of the organization's more notable members include former President Jimmy Carter, NASA astronaut Wendy Lawrence, novelist David Baldacci and YouTube cofounder Chad Hurley. The Society has awarded approximately $15 million since the inception of its awards program in 1932. Today, $1.4 million is awarded each biennium to qualifying students and members through graduate fellowships, undergraduate study abroad grants, member and chapter awards and grants for local and national literacy initiatives.