UNA Pressroom

Delta Mu Delta Inducts 36 Una Students Into Prestigious Honor Society

Apr. 02, 2012

Michelle Eubanks, UNA, at media@una.edu, 256.765.4392 or 256.606.2033

FLORENCE, Ala. - The Eta Alpha chapter of Delta Mu Delta at the University of North Alabama inducted 36 students into its international honor society in business administration March 21 at 3:30 p.m. in the Guillot University performance center. The event was sponsored by the UNA College of Business. Delta Mu Delta is an international honor society for students studying business administration. The first UNA chapter was established in February of 1994. Under the national bylaws, students who are admitted must have good character and a minimum 3.2 overall grade point average. Graduate students studying for a Master of Business Administration degree must also be in the top 20 percent of their class and have a minimum 3.25 grade point average. UNA holds a higher standard for grade point averages of at least 3.5 for juniors and seniors and more than 3.75 for MBA students. The honor society was originally founded in 1913 by professors from Harvard, Yale and New York universities. Delta Mu Delta was incorporated in 1952, and in 1963, the organization was admitted into membership in the Association of College Honor Societies (ACHS). The program featured speeches by UNA College of Business Dean Dr. Paulette Alexander, UNA President Dr. William Cale and a number of other officials from the Delta Mu Delta organization. The following students were inducted into Delta Mu Delta: Jonathan J. Boggs, of Madison Emily S. Burns, of Florence Kailea B. Daniels, of Loretto, Tenn. Loic M. Dimithe, of Florence Caleb A. Lawler, of Florence Edward W. Lumpkin, of Florence Xiaonan Luo, of Florence Cody J. Lyman, of Toney Katelyn D. Moore, of Leoma, Tenn. Maggie Grace Putman, of Lexington Chelsea M. Schurfield, of Killen William R. Thomason, of Danville Xijia Wang, of Florence Jessica R. Warren, of Florence Tori P. Whitehead, of Fayette Andrew F. Ceci, of Decatur Jonathan L. Cooper, of Florence Molly E. Eledge, of Five Points, Tenn. Sereena Goodin, of Haleyville Lindsey S. McClure, of Huntsville Amberly M. Padgett, of Athens Jessica L. Richardson, of Athens Madison J. Terry, of Decatur Luther K. Williams, of Iuka, Miss. Mengting Xiong, of Florence Jeremy W. Byers, of Florence Brian J. Holden, of Huntsville Shauna L. James, of Tuscumbia Joy L. Kelly, of Florence Jennifer A. Lawson, of Rogersville Vaughan P. Lynch, of Vance Michael D. Marks, of Florence Kent E. Smedley, of Baltimore, Md. Thomas L. Still, Jr., of Killen Andrew H. Yarbrough, of Waynesboro, Tenn. Sara A. McDonald, of Lebanon, Tenn. For more information, contact Dr. Joan Parris in the College of Business at 256-765-4961.