APPLY! REQUEST

Faculty and Staff

Bernier, Julia, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of History

Office: 111 Willingham Hall
Email: jbernier@una.edu
Phone: 256.765.4229
Teaching areas: United States History, African American History
Dr. Jeffrey Bibbee

Bibbee, Jeffrey, Ph.D.

Professor of History

Office: 109 Willingham Hall
Email: jrbibbee@una.edu
Phone: 256.765.4533
Teaching areas: World History, British History
Dr. Dan Burton

Burton, Dan, Ph.D.

Professor of History

Office: 213 Willingham Hall
Email: deburton@una.edu
Phone: 256.765.4539
Teaching areas: World History, Medieval History, History of Science & Technology
Dr. Brian Dempsey

Dempsey, Brian, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of History

Office: 101 Willingham Hall
Email: bdempsey@una.edu
Phone: 256.765.5069
Teaching areas: American History, Public History, Southern Heritage Tourism
Dr. Matthew Fitzsimmons

Fitzsimmons, Matthew, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Philosophy

Office: 204 Willingham Hall
Email: mjfitzsimmons@una.edu
Phone: 256.765.4373
Teaching areas: Philosophy, Ethics
Dr. Sarah Franklin

Franklin, Sarah, Ph.D.

Professor of History

Office: 103 Willingham Hall
Email: sfranklin@una.edu
Phone: 256.765.5774
Teaching areas: United States History, Latin American History
Dr. Ulrich Groetsch

Groetsch, Ulrich, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of History

Office: 209 Willingham Hall
Email: ugroetsch@una.edu
Phone: 256.765.4190
Teaching areas: World History, Early Modern and Modern European History
Dr. Timothy Loughrist

Loughrist, Timothy, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Office: 203 Willingham Hall
Email: tloughrist@una.edu
Phone: 256.765.4152
Teaching areas: Philosophy, Ethics

Lowe, Benedict, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of History

Office: 104 Willingham Hall
Email: blowe1@una.edu
Phone: 256.765.4181
Teaching areas:World History, Ancient Mediterranean History
Dr. George Makowski

Makowski, George, Ph.D.

Professor of History

Office: 201 Willingham Hall
Email: gjmakowski@una.edu
Phone: 256.765.4307
Teaching areas: World History, Russian History
Dr. Ansley Quiros

Quiros, Ansley, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of History

Office: 106 Willingham Hall
Email: aquiros@una.edu
Phone: 256.765.4493
Teaching areas: United States History, History of the Civil Rights Movement, American Religious History
Dr. Lynne Rieff

Rieff, Lynne, Ph.D.

Professor of History

Office: 205 Willingham Hall
Email: larieff@una.edu
Phone: 256.765.4661
Teaching areas: United States History, Alabama History, Women's History
Dr. Matthew Schoenbachler

Schoenbachler, Matthew, Ph.D.

Professor of History

Office: 207 Willingham Hall
Email: mschoenbachler@una.edu
Phone: 256.765.4547
Teaching areas: United States History, Republic and Colonial American History
Ms. Jeanne Baughman

Baughman, Jeanne

Senior Administrative Assistant

Office: 109 Willingham Hall
Email: jbaughman@una.edu
Phone: 256.765.4748

Adjunct and Affiliated Faculty

Anderson, Joel, Ph.D.

Adjunct Instructor of Religion

Office: 020 Willingham Hall        Phone: 256.765.5772        Email: janderson16@una.edu
Teaching area: Religion

Armstrong, Seth, M.A.

Adjunct Instructor of History

Office: 020 Willingham Hall        Phone: 256.765.5772        Email: sarmstrong@una.edu
Teaching area: United States History

Barske, Carolyn, Ph.D.

Director, Muscle Shoals National Heritage Area

Office: 468 N. Pine Street, Florence        Phone: 256.765.5028        Email: cbarske@una.edu
Teaching area: Public History 

Brook, Buddy, Col., Ret.

Adjunct Instructor of History

Email: bbrook@una.edu
Teaching area: Military History 

Gebhardt, Carl, D.Min.

Adjunct Instructor of Religion

Office: 100 Willingham Hall        Phone: 256.765.5773        Email: crgebhardt@una.edu
Teaching area: Religion 

Hall, Kevin, M.A.

Adjunct Instructor of History

Office: 020 Willingham Hall        Phone: 256.765.5772        Email: khall6@una.edu
Teaching area: United States History, Historical Research 

Hubbard, Jason, M.A.E.D.

Adjunct Instructor of History

Email: jhhubbard@una.edu
Teaching area: United States History

Long, Kara, M.A.

Adjunct Instructor of History

Email: klong3@una.edu
Teaching area: Public History

Maddox, Lamont, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Secondary Education

Office: 545A Stevens Hall        Phone: 256.765.5187        Email: lmaddox@una.edu
Teaching area: History and Social Sciences

Maplesden, April, M.A.E.D.

Adjunct Instructor of History

Email: adfolden@una.edu
Teaching area: United States History, Social Studies

McKinnon, Bradley, M.A.

Adjunct Instructor of History

Office: 020 Willingham Hall        Phone: 256.765.5772        Email: bjmckinnon@una.edu
Teaching area: United States History

Mullican, Anna, M.A.

Adjunct Instructor of History

Email: amullican@una.edu
Teaching area: Prehistoric and historic archaeology

Murphy, Brian, M.A.

Adjunct Instructor of History

Office: 020 Willingham Hall        Phone: 256.765.5772        Email: bmurphy3@una.edu
Teaching area: Public History

Osborn, Tom, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of History

Email: trosborne@una.edu
Teaching area: World History

Pate, Jennifer, M.L.I.S.

Assistant Professor of Library Services

Office: Collier Library        Phone: 256.765.4625        Email: jpate1@una.edu
Teaching area: Digital Collections Management

Randall, Katie, M.A.

Adjunct Instructor of History

Email: krandall@una.edu
Teaching area: Publilc History

Rieff, Burt, Ph.D.

Adjunct Instructor of History

Office: 200 Willingham Hall        Phone: 256.765.4548        Email: bmrieff@una.edu
Teaching area: United States History

Schroeder, David, Ph.D.

Adjunct Instructor of History

Office: 020 Willingham Hall        Phone: 256.765.5772        Email: djschroeder@una.edu
Teaching area: United States History
SaveSave