Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation(LSAMP)

Now Accepting Applications for Summer 2024!

The Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP), is a national organization that focuses on transforming STEM education through innovative recruitment and retention strategies. The program exists to support historically under-represented minorities in STEM, specifically:

  • African Americans
  • Alaskan Natives
  • American Indians
  • Hispanic Americans
  • Native Pacific Islanders

We are here to support these STEM focused students by providing financial support and academic support during the early stages of their academic careers.

Currently, there are 4 institutions who are partaking in the Tennessee Valley Tri-State LSAMP Alliance program. 

  • The University of North Alabama (UNA)
  • The University of Tennessee Martin (UTM)
  • The Mississippi University for Women (MUW)
  • NorthWest Shoals Community College (NWSCC)

The University of North Alabama is the lead institution in the Alliance, as it is where the program originated and the Director (Dr. Candice Quinn) is a faculty member. 



LSAMP is an alliance-based program, whereby a group of institutions of higher education (IHEs) work together to diversify the nation's science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) workforce by increasing the number of STEM baccalaureate and graduate degrees awarded to persons from LSAMP populations.