KME - AL Beta Chapter

AL Beta Chapter of Kappa Mu EpsilonKappa Mu Epsilon is a specialized honor society in Mathematics. KME was founded in 1931 to promote the interest of mathematics among undergraduate students. Its chapters are located in colleges and universities of recognized standing which offer a strong mathematics major. The chapters' members are selected from students of mathematics and other closely related fields who have maintained standards of scholarship, have professional merit, and have attained academic distinction. UNA's KME chapter was founded in 1935.

For more information about the AL Beta Chapter of KME,
contact Dr. Ashley Johnson or Dr. Miranda Bowie.

For information about the 2020 Spring KME Southeastern Regional Convention, go here.

The Alabama Beta chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon National Mathematics Honor Society inducted two new members, Paige Joyner and Seth Martin, this semester. Due to Covid, last semester's induction ceremony was postponed, so Spring 2021 inductees were also invited to participate in this ceremony. Spring 2021 inductees were Bliss Bailey (Vice President), Marcus Beasley, Austin Castleberry, Austin Davis, Jacob Laughlin (President), Hannah Miller, Jason Morgan, Jo Nakai, Meleah Orr, Morgan Tedford, and Callie Welton (Treasurer).


Spring 2021 and Fall 2021 inductees. Left to right: Dr. Ashley Johnson, Jo Nakai, Austin Castleberry, Jacob Laughlin, Bliss Bailey, Callie Welton, Hannah Miller, Seth Martin, Austin Davis, Paige Joyner, Dr. Miranda Bowie.


Dr. Ashley Johnson gives a short talk about the Birthday Problem.


Jacob Laughlin presides over the induction ceremony.

Spring 2017 Inductees

Spring 2017 Inductees

Pictured: Dr. Bowie, Keeley Osborne, Samuel Oliver, Emma McFall, Anna Mosley, Emma Fancher, Brooke Maupin, Chandler Hawkins, Dr. Johnson

Fall 2016 Inductees

Fall 2015 Inductees

Pictured: Dr Johnson, Joshua Kent, Evan Lott, Derek Brown, Grant Bentley, Millainya Cammarata, Kelsey Varner, Dr. Bowie

Fall 2015 Inductees

Fall 2015 Inductees

Pictured: Tyler Yasaka, Kaitlin Snyder, Nealey Sims, Joseph Schafer, Katelynn Gordon, Erin Cosby, Aaron Avery

Spring 2014 Inductees

Spring 2014 KME Inductees

Monica Achard, Jeffery Allen, Lauryn Ayers, James Beaver, Kelsey Brown, Katherine Coggins, Joseph Cole, Elly Couch, Andrew Craft, Kayla Dailey, Sharon Eccleston, Alex Edwards, Jake Harrington, Leslie Harvey, Elizabeth Kee, David Lundberg, Audrey McGee, Autumn McMunn, Ben Moore, Austin Oldag, Seth Pettus, Kathryn Russell, Andrea Shipley, Hannah Williams

KME National Webpage

Pi(e) Your Professor

Other Photos