Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.


Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated (AKA) is an international service organization that was founded on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. in 1908. It is the oldest Greek-lettered organization established by African-American college-educated women.

The Nu Omicron chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority was chartered on the University of North Alabama campus on December 7, 1980 by 14 pearls.

aka-event.jpeg aka-event-2.jpeg

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Nu Omicron
Nickname: AKA
Founded: January 15, 1908 at Howard University (Washington, D.C.)
Chartered: December 7, 1980
Colors: Salmon Pink & Apple Green
Flower: Pink Tea Rose
National Programs: HBCU For Life: A Call to Action, Women's Healthcare and Wellness, Building Your Economic Legacy, The Arts!, Global Impact
Philanthropy: Breast Cancer Awareness
Service: 179 hours completed in Spring 2022
Annual Campus Events: Community Impact Day, Breast Cancer Awareness, Martin Luther King Service Day, Pink Goes Red for Heart Health, Mr. Ivy League Scholarship Pageant
Awards & Honors: Daniel R. Leasure Chapter of the Year (2021 and 2022), Outstanding Volunteerism Award (2022), Outstanding Volunteerism Award (Individual) - Kaylin Bone (2022),  Sorority Woman of the Year - Chase Evans (2022), Homecoming Queen - Shanise Allen (2021), AKA Mitzi Dease Exemplary Undergraduate Chapter (2021 and 2022), Stroll Off Champions (2021), SGLA NPHC Member of the Year - Shanise Allen (2022), Walker Rigsby Collaborative Award (2022), College of Education and Human Sciences Dean's Award (2022), Mary D. Shane Miss AKA Outstanding Undergraduate Soror - Shanise Allen (2022), Velma Lewis Jones New Soror of the Year Award - Jakayla Bridgeforth (2022), Mitzi Dease Paige Leadership Award - Kaylin Bone (2022), Temple Cotton Legacy Award - Kaylin Bone (2022), Ester Martin-Rigsby Membership Intake Chairman Award - Jaeda Byrd (2022), Ernestine Holloway Graduate Advisor of the Year Award - Junea Thompson (2022)
Spring 2023 Chapter Average Term GPA: 3.201
Connect with Us
Facebook Link  Twitter Link  Instagram Logo  Website Link
Jada Mitchell, President