APPLY! REQUEST

Faculty and Staff of the English Department

Full-time Faculty and Staff:

Dr. Cynthia Burkhead, Chair

Associate Professor

115 Willingham
(256) 765-4790
caburkhead@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Film studies, Television studies, Folklore, American literature

Dr. Nancy Atkinson

Professor

119 Willingham
(256) 765-4491
neatkinson@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Medieval and Renaissance Literature, The Bible as Literature, Anglo-Saxon and medieval saint stories, sermon literature, Gay and Lesbian literature, Women's studies.

Dr. Vince Brewton

Professor

Lafayette G3
(256) 765-5005
vjbrewton@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Nineteenth and Twentieth century American literature; Southern literature; and literary theory

Daryl

Mr. Daryl Brown

Professor

227 Willingham
(256) 765-4494
dwbrown@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Genres in Fiction, Advanced Creative Writing: Poetry and Creative Nonfiction, Advanced Creative Writing: Fiction and Drama, Protest Writing and Dissent

Dr. Jill Dahlman

Assistant Professor

015 Willingham Hall
(256) 765.5273
jdahlman@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Composition

Dianne

Ms. Dianne Dodson

Instructor

221 Willingham Hall
(256) 765.4187
tddodson@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Young adult literature, especially current YA novels with themes of disability.

matt

Dr. Matthew Duques

Assistant Professor

208 Willingham
(256) 765-4298
mduques@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Early American Literature and Culture to the Civil War; Literature and Architecture; Classical Reception; Native American Literature; Literary Theory

Anissa

Ms. Anissa Graham

Instructor

117 Willingham
256-765-4496
amgraham@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Composition and Literature. Popular Culture, especially film, television, comic books, and music.

Latasha

Ms. Latasha Howell

Instructor

003 Willingham
(256) 765-5062
lahowell@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Composition, American Literature, and World Literature

Pam

Ms. Pam Kingsbury

Instructor

217 Willingham
(256) 765-4890
pjkingsbury@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Creative Writing; Contemporary American Literature

Kelly

Dr. Kelly Latchaw

Assistant Professor, Coordinator of Graduate Studies

225 Willingham
(256) 765-4492
kllatchaw@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Cultural Studies and Linguistics

Nick

Dr. Nick Mauriello

Professor

223 Willingham
(256) 765-4499
nmauriello@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Multimodal Writing, Rhetorical Theory, Applied Linguistics, and Writing Centers and WID

Mr. Jason McCall

Assistant Professor

219 Willingham
(256) 765-4889
jmccall2@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Creative Writing Poetry

Dr. Katie Owens-Murphy

Assistant Professor

(256) 765-4893
110 Willingham
kowensmurphy@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: American literature, theories of lyric and narrative, prison literature

Alaina Reid

Ms. Alaina Patterson Reid

Instructor

(256) 765-5061
002 Willingham
ampatterson1@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Composition Rhetoric; English as a Second Language; 18th and 19th Century British Literature; World Literature; Women’s Studies

Dr. Cheryl Blake Price

Assistant Professor

(256) 765-4488
215 Willingham
cprice7@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: 18th and 19th Century British Literature, Crime Fiction, Literature and Science, Ecocriticism, Literature and Medicine, and Gender Studies

Dr. Jason Price

Assistant Professor

(256) 765-4101
112 Willingham
jprice7@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: 20th and 21st Century British and Anglophone Literature

Christa

Ms. Christa Raney

Instructor

(256) 765-4490
206 Willingham
chraney@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Composition and Literature

Brenna

Dr. Brenna Wardell

Assistant Professor

(256) 765-5752
108 Willingham
kwardell@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Film and Literature

Dr. Tammy Winner

Associate Professor, Program Coordinator, MA in Writing

(256) 660 - 9026
212 Willingham
twinner@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Technical Writing and Editing, Professional Writing, Rhetoric, Composition and Internship Supervision

Dr. Karla Zelaya

Assistant Professor

210 Willingham
kzelaya@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: African American Literature

Graduate Assistants:

Brett Fish

MA in Literature

Willingham 216
mfish@una.edu

Lee Hall

MA in Literature

Willingham 216

Senior Administrative Assistant

Ms. Dana Burbank

Senior Administrative Assistant

(256) 765-4238
English Department Office
Willingham 113
dmburbank@una.edu