Faculty and Staff of the English Department

Full-time Faculty:

Dr. Cheryl Blake Price

Chair, Associate Professor

(256) 765-4488
115 Willingham
cprice7@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: 18th and 19th Century British Literature, Crime Fiction, Literature and Science, Ecocriticism, and Literature and Medicine.

Dr. Nancy Atkinson

Professor

119 Willingham
(256) 765-4491
neatkinson@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Medieval and Renaissance Literature, The Bible as Literature, Anglo-Saxon and medieval saint stories, sermon literature, Gay and Lesbian literature, Women's studies.

Dr. Vince Brewton

Dean of the Honors College

Lafayette G3
(256) 765-5005
vjbrewton@una.edu


Daryl

Mr. Daryl Brown

Professor

227 Willingham
(256) 765-4494
dwbrown@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Genres in Fiction, Advanced Creative Writing: Poetry and Creative Nonfiction, Advanced Creative Writing: Fiction and Drama, Protest Writing and Dissent

Anissa

Ms. Anissa Graham

Senior Lecturer

208 Willingham
256-765-4496
amgraham@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Composition and Literature. Popular Culture, especially film, television, comic books, and music.

Latasha

Ms. Latasha Howell

Senior Lecturer

003 Willingham
(256) 765-5062
lahowell@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Composition, American Literature, and World Literature

Ms. Felicia Jones

Lecturer

216 Wilingham

(256) 765-4498

fjones3@una.edu

Pam

Ms. Pam Kingsbury

Senior Lecturer

217 Willingham
(256) 765-4890
pjkingsbury@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Creative Writing; Contemporary American Literature

Kelly

Dr. Kelly Latchaw

Assistant Professor, MA in English Coordinator

225 Willingham
(256) 765-4492
kllatchaw@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Cultural Studies and Linguistics

Nick

Dr. Nick Mauriello

Professor

223 Willingham
(256) 765-4499
nmauriello@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Multimodal Writing, Rhetorical Theory, Applied Linguistics, and Writing Centers and WID

Mr. Jason McCall

Assistant Professor

(256) 765-4889
219 Willingham
jmccall2@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Creative Writing Poetry

Mr. Stephen Melvin

Senior Lecturer

015 Willingham
(256) 765-4187
sgmelvin@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields:
Composition and Literature. Literature and Films of the 1970s; When Animals Attack Fiction; Conspiracy Theory Narratives.

Dr. Katie Owens-Murphy

Associate Professor

(256) 765-4893
110 Willingham
kowensmurphy@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: American literature, theories of lyric and narrative, prison literature

Alaina Reid

Ms. Alaina Patterson Reid

Senior Lecturer

(256) 765-5061
002 Willingham
ampatterson1@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Composition Rhetoric; English as a Second Language; 18th and 19th Century British Literature; World Literature; Women’s Studies

Dr. Jason Price

Assistant Professor and Assistant Chair

(256) 765-4104
112 Willingham
jprice7@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: 20th and 21st Century British and Anglophone Literature

Christa

Ms. Christa Raney

Senior Lecturer

(256) 765-4490
206 Willingham
chraney@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Composition and Literature

Dr. Marie Taylor

Assistant Professor

(256) 765-4298
117 Willingham
mtaylor18@una.edu
Research and Teaching fields: Early American Literature, Native American Literature, 17th and 18th Century Transatlantic Literature

Brenna

Dr. Brenna Wardell

Associate Professor

(256) 765-5752
108 Willingham
kwardell@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Film and Literature

Dr. Tammy Winner

Professor, MA in Writing Coordinator

(256) 660-9026
212 Willingham
twinner@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Technical Writing and Editing, Professional Writing, Rhetoric, Composition and Internship Supervision

Dr. Karla Zelaya

Assistant Professor

(256) 765-4678
210 Willingham
kzelaya@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Contemporary Black Literature, Eighteenth- and Nineteenth-Century Black Literature, Black Atlantic Literature (Afro-Latinx and Caribbean literature)

Senior Administrative Assistant

Ms. Dana Burbank

Senior Administrative Assistant

(256) 765-4238
English Department Office
Willingham 113
dmburbank@una.edu

Graduate Assistants:

Caroline Hughes

(256) 765-5040
Willingham 012

chughes5@una.edu

Morgan Wilbanks

(256) 765-5040
Willingham 012

twilbanks@una.edu

Dani Whisonant

(256) 765-5040

Willingham 012

lwhisonant@una.edu

Karoline Xavier

(256) 765-5040

Willingham 012

ktorresnevesxavier@una.edu

Adjunct and Affiliated Faculty:

Chloe Allen

(256) 765-4158

Willingham 013

callen3@una.edu

Dr. Cynthia Burkhead

 Professor

115 Willingham
(256) 765-4790
caburkhead@una.edu
Research and Teaching Fields: Film studies, Television studies, Folklore, American literature

Dr. Sarah Carpenter

(256) 765-4158

Willingham 013

sgsmith@una.edu

Kristi Caudill

kcaudill@una.edu

Tabitha Collier

thcollier@una.edu

Sarah Cox

secox@una.edu

Melinda Duncan

maduncan@una.edu

Chris Farris

cfarris2@una.edu

Carl Franks

(256) 765-5042

Willingham 014

cfranks4@una.edu

Jessica Fuller

Cherokee High School

jfuller@una.edu

Ashley Garcia

agarcia3@una.edu

Lee Hall

(256) 765-4158

Willingham 013

kgboaz@una.edu

Katie Hallemeier

kpace@una.edu

Ryan Huntley

(256) 765-5042

Willingham 014

rhuntley@una.edu

Laura James

lljames@una.edu

Dr. Matthew Price

(256) 765-5949

209 Collier Library

mprice2@una.edu

Dr. Kat Richards

(256) 765-6015

Commons 220

karichards@una.edu

Katlyn Sutton

ksutton4@una.edu

Katie Todd

ktodd1@una.edu

Kris Trzaskoma

(256) 765-4158

Willimham 013

ktrzaskoma@una.edu

Jana Willingham

jcwillingham1@una.edu