Technologies Advisory Committee Minutes 27 April 2023

The Technologies Advisory Committee meeting was called to order at 11:05 a.m. by Darlene Townsend.

Members in attendance: Matt Colburn, Chris DaSambiagio-Moore, Ethan Humphres, John McGee, Brittnay Mitchell, Mike Nelson, Mitch Powell, and Darlene Townsend (chair)

Guests in attendance: Aaron Benson

Chair Townsend reported that the committee had received an inquiry from Mr. Russ Wilson, Information Technology Services (ITS), to consider whether a request for new equipment for Art building classrooms AR101, AR102, and AR202, should be reviewed by the committee. The TAC was specifically asked to consider whether these changes in technology might mean the classrooms should be designated as e-classrooms supported by ITS going forward. Guest Aaron Benson, chair of the Department of Visual Arts and Design, was invited to share the plans for the classrooms and answer questions about the request. Ethan Humphres, Executive Director of ITS, explained the difference in designating a classroom as an e-classroom, including what such a designation means for ITS (ongoing maintenance, support, budget impact, and equipment replacement) and the need for review of such requests by the TAC. He also answered questions about costs, funding, equipment and installation options, and other issues.

Mike Nelson moved to recommend that Art building classrooms AR101, AR102, and AR202 be changed to e-classrooms supported and maintained by Information Technology Services in the utilization of mounted commercial television equipment for display and instruction purposes. The motion was seconded by Matt Colburn. The motion was unanimously approved. Details concerning specific hardware and cost-sharing will be determined by ITS and the Department of Visual Arts and Design.

Chair Townsend will send a memo to the Mr. Wilson, Mr. Benson, and other appropriate persons.

Chair Townsend acknowledged the nomination and election (via e-business) of Brittnay Mitchell as the vice chair/chair-elect of the TAC for 2023-2024, to replace previously elected (via e-business) vice chair, Jessica Mitchell, who separated from the university in December.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:30 a.m.