

Multicultural Meeting Minutes January 12, 2023 11:00am via Zoom (Meeting ID: 957 8975 8904)

Attendees:

Dr. Jeffrey Cornelius (Chair), Dr. Rebecca Hopkins (Vice-Chair), Ms. Yaslin Perez, Dr. Rachel Winston, Ms. Vickie Green, Ms. Juliette Butler, Dr. Lindsey Sherrill, Ms. Tammy Rhodes, Dr. Ron Patterson, Dr. Karla Zelaya, Mr. Bishop Alexander, Dr. Shinika Byrd, and Ms. Cala Flippo. Dr. Jeffrey Cornelius presided.

Call of Meeting to Order

Dr. Jeffrey Cornelius called the meeting to order at 11:00am and welcomed attendees.

Agenda Items

- Motion to Approve Agenda 1-12-2023 Vickie Green, Bishop Alexander. Vote Motion Approved.
- Motion to Approve Minutes 2-23-2022 Bishop Alexander, Vickie Green. Vote Motion Approved.
- Committee Charge Dr. Cornelius noted and referred to the charge of this Multicultural Advisory Committee (MAC).
- New Business Dr. Ron Patterson
 - DEI Overview Dr. Patterson provided a brief overview of the Division of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and welcomed collaboration to facilitate new ideas.
 - President's Diversity Award Dr. Patterson provided the committee with details about this award and noted the informational document attached to the MAC meeting invite. Dr. Patterson will share with MAC the previously developed forms and links to keep track of received nominations and a rubric with scoring criteria to determine recipients. All nominations are due by February 28th, 2023. The winner(s) of this award will be recognized at the UNA Awards Gala in April.

Discussion:

Dr. Jeff Cornelius asked about teaming up to evaluate nominees. Mr. Patterson indicated a subcommittee was formed to review nominations and recommend recipients. Discussion occurred on the timeline for reviews and submitting selected recipients. Ms. Juliette Butler noted March 3rd is the deadline to receive the selected recipient(s) of the President's Diversity Award. Dr. Patterson indicated there may be up to 3 recipients awarded. Dr. Cornelius asked the committee for volunteers to serve on the Subcommittee. Four MAC members volunteered and will serve on the President's Diversity Award Subcommittee – Dr. Rebecca Hopkins, Ms. Yaslin Perez, Ms. Juliette Butler, and Dr. Rachel Winston.

Major Dewayne Williams Memorial Scholarship - Mr. Patterson noted that this scholarship has a similar process. Financial Aide sends a list of currently enrolled students to be considered for this scholarship. Mr. Patterson noted last year there were over 500 students on the list. Dr. Cornelius asked about a form for this award and Mr. Patterson confirmed there is an excel spreadsheet with the highest academic achievers listed at the top of the list. This nominations list will be received after the President's Diversity Award is selected. Dr. Byrd asked if the 500 students was just for the Major Williams award and Dr. Patterson confirmed yes it was. Dr. Patterson noted the Major Dewayne Williams award is \$500 each to two students, one Freshman and one Junior or Senior.

Further Discussion on the Presidents Diversity Award – Dr. Cornelius asked if all members agreed with the MAC reconvening on March 2nd at 11:00am to hear the Subcommittee's recommendations for the award and vote on the recommended recipients of the Presidents Diversity Award – all in agreement. At that meeting, a date will be set for the next meeting. Ms. Yaslin Perez noted that she will relay information about the President's Diversity Award to the Student Government Association. Dr. Rachel Winston asked if Dr. Rebecca Hopkins will reach out to the Subcommittee and Dr. Cornelius confirmed that she would as soon as the forms are received. Dr. Patterson indicated that he would make sure forms are updated and would get the forms to the MAC Chair, Dr. Cornelius. Dr. Hopkins asked about the role of the Subcommittee. Dr. Patterson responded that the subcommittee will select award recipient(s) based on the nomination pool, such as students, faculty, staff, etc. Student recipients would receive a \$500 stipend to the UNA Bookstore and Faculty/Staff recipient would receive \$500 credit to their department. There can be up to 3 recipients of the award. Mr. Bishop Alexander asked about how the awards are communicated so that all know when the awards are available and Mr. Patterson explained that he meets with presidents to share this information.

Dr. Cornelius noted he would send out the forms/links when he receives. Also, Ms. Yaslin Perez will be on the March agenda to share an SGA update relating to diversity efforts on campus.

Questions & Comments

NA

Motion to Adjourn (Dr. Rachel Winston, Ms. Yaslin Perez)

There being no additional questions or items of information, the meeting adjourned at 11:26 a.m.

/rh