Multicultural Advisory Committee

Meeting Agenda

April 23rd, 10:30am online via Teams

Committee Members: Alexander, Justin; Butler, Juliette; Byrd, Shinika; Cornelius, Jeffrey; Deamues, Kennedy; Ellis, Minnette; Flippo, Cala; Jones, Krimsyn; Looser, Melanie; Hopkins, Rebecca; Patel, Dhrumil; Rhodes, Tammy; Sherrill, Lindsey; Zelaya, Karla; Zills, Grace

- I. Approval of today's Agenda Byrd/ Butler
- II. Approval of Minutes from February 20th, 2024 meeting **Butler/Sherill**
- III. Today's Business:

a) Major Dewayne Williams Scholarship:

Recipients of the scholarship must meet the following qualifications:

To the extent permitted by law, priority of consideration shall be given to a student that it is *an incoming freshman whose enrollment would enhance the diversity* of the University's student population, thereby improving the quality of the University's education experience and product. Or a *current enrolled student with a minimum 2.5 GPA whose admittance enhances the diversity* at UNA.

- MAC Role: Select 2 scholarship recipients: 1 incoming freshman and 1 currently enrolled student
 - Scholarship recipient names must be submitted to Ms. Littrell by May 1st, 2024
- MDW Scholarship Subcommittee Patel, Sherril, Flippo, Rhodes, Zills, Alexander
 - The MDW subcommittee met to review nominees. Zills asked for votes from everyone for each category and there was not a clear winner so we had a teams meeting, then narrowed down to 2-3 for each category. A word document to summarize candidates was sent to the committee.
 - The MDW Applications were filtered by diversity areas discussed in the last meeting minority groups, financial need, and gender
 - The subcommittee provided top selections of students to receive this scholarship from each category -
 - Incoming Freshmen: Daniela Pascual, Chloe Byrd, Arlie Armstrong
 - Current Student: Emmanuel Koum Ngando, and Kenneth Davies
 - The committee has access to a word document (see email attachment) with nominating information for each of these students to review in order to select the final choices.
 - Discussion of final selections for MDW scholarship. G. Zills explained each candidate to the committee. C. Flippo did express her support for Emmanuel and vouch for his character. D. Patel brought up his experience about having to provide evidence that he could afford the education before he was accepted. D. Patel asked C. Flippo to address this. She explained that the currency in his country has changed which has added to his need. His currency equals 0.00006 of the American dollar. Committee decided to vote today with comment in chat. Byrd suggested to the committee to also remember to thing of the major when we vote for a minority. Everyone voted to submit votes via chat. Emmanuel Koum Ngando was voted for current student and the incoming freshman Chloe Byrd as the MDW recipients.

b) Nominate and vote on the next Vice Chair

- Grace Zills will be MAC Chair for 2024-2025
- Discussion on Vice Chair Nominations and who is qualified and will not roll off next year.
- Discussion if two people from the same college was acceptable and discussion about that being acceptable by. J. Cornelius.
- M. Looser was nominated and voted as Vice Chair.
- c) Other Discussion None
- IV. Adjourn 11:15 Looser/ Butler

Respectfully submitted by Vice Chair Grace Zills