## FACULTY SENATE MINUTES May 1, 2014

The Faculty Senate of the University of North Alabama met May 1, 2014 in Room 102 of Floyd Science Building at 3:30 p.m.

President Peterson called the meeting to order and recognized the following proxies: Cathy Malone for Senate Lee from Nursing, Vince Brewton for Senator Kingsbury from English, and Rae Atencio for Senator Relkin from Military Science.

Senator Statom moved the adoption of the agenda. Senator Campbell seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Senator Statom moved to amend the agenda to move the vote for the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee member to appear before the nominations for the Shared Governance positions. Senator Barrett seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Senator Graham moved to approve the April 10, 2014 minutes. Senator Garfrerick seconded. The motion passed 36-0-1.

President Cale reported that at the Senate Executive Board meeting he was asked to look at the tenure for instructor rank for teaching faculty which has already been adopted by this body but which could certainly be reconsidered. The teaching faculty at Kilby are bound by State Law since they are considered part of the Lauderdale County School System.

President Cale discussed the faculty membership on the Presidential Search Committee which included four nominated from the senate and four nominated from the Shared Governance Committee. He encouraged the faculty to be active participants within the process. The Faculty voice needs to be heard. The faculty members along with the administrators bring the cultural knowledge of academia into the search process. The Trustees are meeting tomorrow and will certainly discuss this search process. He wished the faculty a great summer and productive search process.

President Peterson thanked President Cale for his service to the University.

## **UNFINISHED BUSINESS:**

- A. President Peterson recognized and welcomed the new senators and stated that new senator orientation will occur thirty minutes prior to the September 4 meeting.
- B. The following senate officers were elected:

President-Elect -	Sarah Franklin
Secretary -	Pat Roden
Board Member -	Amanda Coffman
Board Member -	Lee Renfroe

C. Undergraduate Curriculum Committee Nominees:

College of Business: Pat Roden College of Arts and Sciences: Isaac Sleadd, Lee Raney, and Keith Lindley

D. Shared Governance Nominations

## Faculty Nominations Shared Governance Committees Fall 2014

Committee	Incumbent Faculty Member	Representation per Shared	Person Selected (or Re-elected)
Academic and Student Affairs	Dan Hallock	College of Business	Dan Hallock
Academic and Student Affairs	Amanda Coffman	Faculty at large	Randy Shadburn
Animal Care and Use	Ulrich Groetsch	Primary concerns in non-scientific area	Jean Ann Helms
Animal Care and Use	Mark Puckett	Faculty at large	Jay Jackson
Athletic	Lisa Clayton	Faculty at large	Lisa Clayton
Distance Learning Advisory	Dennis Balch	College of Business	Jill Simpson
Distance Learning Advisory	Cynthia Burkhead	College of Arts & Sc.	Alejandra Alvarado- Brizuela
Faculty/Staff Welfare	Sarah Franklin	Faculty at large	Eric O'Neal
Faculty/Staff Welfare	Phillip Oliver	Faculty at large	Pat Roden
Faculty/Staff Welfare	Sunhui Sim	Faculty at large	Gary Padgett
Food Services	Tina Hubler	Faculty at large	Johnson Ogun
Food Services	Peggy Bergeron	Faculty at large	Peggy Bergeron
Graphics Standards and Web Communications	Bruce Gordon*	College of Business	Pete Williams
Graphics Standards and Web Communications	n/a – new faculty membership position added to	Collier Library	Jonathan Simms
Human Subjects	Vicky Hulsey*	College of Education	Leah Whitten
Human Subjects	Lynn Underwood	College of Nursing	Lynn Underwood
Infrastructure Development	Pamela Kingsbury	Faculty at large	Leah Graham
Institutional Effectiveness	Pam Chaney*	Faculty w/IE reporting requirements	, ,
International	Dianne Dodson	College of Arts & Sc.	Lesley Peterson
Multicultural Advisory	Tera Kirkman	College of Nursing	Tera Kirkman
Multicultural Advisory	Peggy Bergeron	College of Nursing	Peggy Bergeron
Parking and Traffic	Lisa Clayton	Faculty at large	Ulrich Groetsch
Parking and Traffic	Kathy Lewis-Adler	Faculty at large	Lisa Clayton
Research	Lynn Underwood	Faculty at large	Matt Green
Safety & Emer. Preparedness	Vicki Pierce	Faculty at large	Isaac Sleadd
Safety & Emer. Preparedness	Suzanne DZurinsky	Art	Suzanne Zurinsky
Shared Governance Executive	Larry Adams	Faculty at large	Katie Kinney

Committee	Incumbent Faculty Member	Representation per Shared	Person Selected (or Re-elected)
Shared Governance Executive	Brenda Webb	Faculty at large	Jason Flynn
Strategic Planning & Bdgt	Brian Thompson	Faculty at large	Bryan Thompson
Student Financial Services	Katie Kinney*	Faculty at large	Felecia Harris
Technologies Advisory	Phillip Oliver	Library faculty	Jonathan Simms
Technologies Advisory	Richard Hudiburg	College of Arts & Sc.	Richard Hudiburg
Undergraduate Readmissions	Jerome Gafford	College of Business	Jerome Gafford
Undergraduate Readmissions	Wendy Darby*	College of Nursing	Linda Austin
Undergraduate Readmissions	Michelle Nelson	College of Nursing	Michelle Nelson

\* Has served maximum of 2 consecutive 3-yr terms allowed by shared governance document. Not eligible for reappointment.