## FACULTY SENATE MINUTES May 2, 2013

The Faculty Senate of the University of North Alabama met May 2, 2013 in Room 102 of Floyd Science Building at 3:30 p.m.

President Lee called the meeting to order and recognized the following proxies:
Sharon Campbell for Senator Carnes from Accounting and Business Law,
Carolyn Lovett for Senator Sewell from Secondary Education, and
Darlene Townsend for Senator Butler from Collier Library.

Senator Statom moved the adoption of the agenda. Senator McIntosh seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Senator Barrett moved the approval of the April 11, 2013 minutes. Senator McIntosh seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

President Cale gave an update on the budget and legislative actions. While the House recommended a 1.24% jump in the base appropriation, the Senate reduced it to .5%. The Senate and House versions must be resolved which will probably meet in the middle. In an earlier session the legislature passed and the governor signed a bill allowing families to remove students from the lower 10% schools and get a tax credit. This bill is being reconsidered. President Cale stated that the university continues to work for earmarked funding for the science building. There are five session days left. He stated that he does not anticipate more cuts in funding.

President Cale announced that the groundbreaking for the science building is scheduled for Monday at 11 a.m. He thanked the senate for their hard work this year.

Dr. Thornell, VPAA, remarked at the level of collegiality at the luncheon today and the celebration of how much has been accomplished.

#### **UNFINISHED BUSINESS:**

A. President Lee announced and welcomed the new senators for the 2013-2014 year. She stated that there will be an orientation at the beginning of the semester in the fall for the new senators.

B. Senator Statom moved to elect by acclamation the following senate officers:

Scott Infanger: President-elect,

Pat Roden: Secretary,

John McGee: Executive Board, Jana Beaver: Executive Board.

Senator Garfrerick seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

C. The election results for nominees for the Shared Governance Committees appears in Attachment A.

#### **ANNOUNCEMENTS:**

- A. The senate meeting dates for the 2013-2014 year were announced. (See Attachment B)
- B. President Lee announced that the Task Force concerning Campus Security has been formed including staff and students as well as faculty. She stated that they hope to have something accomplished soon.

Senator Roden moved the meeting be adjourned. Senator Statom seconded. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 4:30 p.m.

# ATTACHMENT A Faculty Vacancies on Shared Governance Committees Beginning in Fall 2013

Committee	Incumbent Faculty Member w/Term Expiring Aug. 2013	Representation per Shared Governance Document	Person Selected (or Re-elected) for Vacancy
Academic and Student Affairs	Janice Myhan	College of Education	Katie Kinney
Academic and Student Affairs	Bill Huddleston	Faculty at large	Cameron Gren
Animal Care and Use	Jeff Ray	Practicing scientist experienced in animal research	Jeff Ray
Animal Care and Use	Matt Fitzsimmons	Faculty at large	Ryan Zayac
Athletic	Amanda Coffman	Faculty at large	Doris McDaniel
Distance Learning Advisory	Lisa Clayton	College of Education	Carolyn Lovett
Distance Learning Advisory	Janet McMullen	College of Arts & Sc.	Larry Bates
Distance Learning Advisory	Scott Infanger	College of Arts & Sc.	Ryan Zayac
Faculty/Staff Welfare	Cameron Gren	Faculty at large	Brent Olive
Graphics Standards and Web Communications	Lynn Aquadro	College of Nursing	Clarissa Hall
Graphics Standards and Web Communications	Jason Flynn	Faculty at large	Jason Flynn
Graphics Standards and Web Communications	Katie Kinney	College of Education	Dhrumi Patel
Human Subjects	Ron Davis *	College of Business	Janet Jenkins
Human Subjects	Gabriela Carrasco *	Behavioral Sciences	Ryan Zayac
Human Subjects	Jackie Williams	Non-scientific area	Orish Groetsh
Human Subjects	Crescente Figueroa*	Scientific areas not using human subjects	Frank Diaz
Human Subjects	newly added position as of fall 2013	College of Education	Ruth Dumas
Human Subjects	newly added position as of fall 2013	HPER	Eric O'Neal
Human Subjects	newly added position as of fall 2013	College of Nursing	Vicki Pierce
Human Subjects	newly added position as of fall 2013	Chemistry, Biology, or Physics	Amanda Coffman
Human Subjects	newly added position as of fall 2013	Chemistry, Biology, or Physics	Glenn Marvin
Infrastructure Development	Mel Blake	Faculty at large	Pat Roden
Institutional Effectiveness	Mark Foster	Faculty w/IE reporting requirements	Mark Trestor

Committee	Incumbent Faculty Member w/Term Expiring Aug. 2013	Representation per Shared Governance Document	Person Selected (or Re-elected) for Vacancy
International Programs/Offerings	L. Keys-Mathews**	College of Education	Dhrumi Patel
International Programs/Offerings	Santanu Borah	College of Business	Santanu Borah
International Programs/Offerings	Pat Sanders	College of Nursing	Charlotte Cramer
International Programs/Offerings	newly added position as of fall 2013	Faculty who has led credit-bearing study abroad program within past 3 years	Pat Sanders
Multicultural Advisory	Frank Diaz	College of Arts & Sc.	Chong Qiu
Multicultural Advisory	Jana Beaver	College of Business	Doug Barrett
Multicultural Advisory	Mark Foster	College of Business	Sean Collins
Multicultural Advisory	Joy Brown *	College of Education	Ruth Dumas
Parking and Traffic	Jim Martin	Faculty at large	Lynn Underwood
Parking and Traffic	Scott Infanger	Faculty at large	Randy Shadburn
Research	Valeriy Dolmatov	Faculty at large	Frank Diaz
Research	Pam Chaney *	Faculty at large	Cameron Gren
Safety & Emer. Preparedness	Brent Olive *	Chemistry & Indst Hyg	Chong Qiu
Shared Governance Executive	Richard Statom	Faculty at large	Rachel Winston
Strategic Planning & Bdgt Study	Bill Huddleston	Faculty at large	Bill Huddleston
Strategic Planning & Bdgt Study	David Muse	Faculty at large	David Brommer
Strategic Planning & Bdgt Study	Peggy Hoekenga	Faculty at large	Miranda Bowie
Student Financial Services	Jeff Bibbee	Faculty at large	Mark Lawrence
Student Financial Services	Pat Sanders *	Faculty at large	Prema Monteirio
Technologies Advisory	Janelle Sorrell	College of Nursing	Nikita Duke
Undergraduate Readmissions	Crescente Figueroa	College of Arts & Sc.	Frank Diaz
Undergraduate Readmissions	Lisa Clayton	College of Education	Lisa Clayton

#### Note concerning International Programs/Offerings Committee:

The Shared Governance Executive Committee and President Cale approved changes to the membership structure of the International Programs/Offerings Committee effective fall 2013. Previously, 6 faculty members were on the committee representing the faculty at large. Those 6 now will include at least one representative from each College. Therefore, these changes are being effected with the membership service terms that expire in 2013. (Thus, for example, Lisa Keys-Mathews and Pat Sanders have represented the faculty at large while serving on the committee, but Education and Nursing faculty members now should be named to those slots in order to meet the revised structure set forth in the shared governance document.)

<sup>\*</sup> Has served maximum of 2 consecutive 3-yr terms allowed by shared governance document. Not eligible for reappointment.

#### **ATTACHMENT B**

2013–2014 Senate and Senate Executive Schedule

#### Faculty Senate

### **Executive Committee**

Thursday, August 29

Thursday, October 3

Thursday, November 7

Thursday, Dec. 5

Thursday, January 30

Thursday, March 6

Thursday, April 3

Thursday, April 24

#### Faculty Senate

Thursday, September 5

Thursday, October 10

Thursday, November 14

Tuesday, December 10

Thursday, February 6

Thursday, March 13

Thursday, April 10

Thursday, May 1