FACULTY SENATE MINUTES May 1, 2012

The Faculty Senate of the University of North Alabama met May 1, 2012 in Room 102 of Floyd Science Building at 3:30 p.m.

President Townsend called the meeting to order and recognized the following proxies:

Daryl Brown for Senator Kingsbury from English,

Vince Brewton for Senator Verrone from English, and

Lynn Rieff for Senator Fitzsimmons from History and Political Science.

President Townsend welcomed the new senators.

Senator Statom moved the adoption of the agenda. Senator Loeppky seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Senator Barrett moved the approval of the April 12, 2012 minutes. Senator Sanders seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

President Cale reported on the plan to retain Kilby and later find possible legislative relief. He stated that he felt good about the plan and thought it was a viable one.

Vice-President Thornell had no remarks.

SPECIAL ORDER:

Senator Davison, representing the nominating committee, circulated a ballot for President-Elect and Secretary. A second ballot for the two executive board members was circulated. The

following officers were elected: President-Elect: Lesley Peterson

Secretary: Pat Roden

Board Member: Doug Barrett Board Member: John McGee

These officers will serve along with President Marilyn Lee, and Past-President Darlene Townsend.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS:

- A. President Townsend shared letters concerning Kilby Laboratory School as an information item.
- B. Nominations for Shared Governance Committee vacancies were presented. Senator Lee moved the nominations be closed. Senator Statom seconded. The motion passed. Senator Roden moved to elect by acclamation all those where there was only one nominee for the vacancy. Senator Gaston seconded. The motion passed. The results of the voting:

Faculty Vacancies on Shared Governance Committees Beginning in Fall 2012 Committee	Incumbent Faculty Member w/Term Expiring Aug. 2012	Representing	Person Selected (or Re-elected) for Vacancy
Academic & Student Affairs	Laura Williams	Nursing	Tera Kirkman
Academic & Student Affairs	Brenda Webb	Arts and Sciences	Brenda Webb
Athletic	Christa Raney	Faculty at large	Daryl Brown
Athletic	(added for 2012-13)	Faculty at large	Miranda Bowie
Athletic	(added for 2012-13)	Faculty at large	Christa Raney
Distance Learning Advisory	Natasha Lindsey	Business	Natasha Lindsey
Distance Learning Advisory	Vicky Hulsey	Education	Vicky Hulsey
Distance Learning Advisory	Cathy Malone	Nursing	Cathy Malone
Distance Learning Advisory	Betty Rickard	Nursing	Betty Rickard
Distance Learning Advisory	Craig Robertson	Arts and Sciences	May Takeuchi
Distance Learning Advisory	Leigh Thompson *	Library	Celia Reynolds
Graphics Standards and Web Communications	Beth Garfrerick	Arts and Sciences	Melissa Driskell
Graphics Standards and Web Communications	Amy Butler *	Faculty at large	Jim Martin
Human Subjects	May Takeuchi	Social Sciences	May Takeuchi
Infrastructure Development	Vince Brewton	Faculty at large	Jason Flynn
International Programs/Offerings	Claudia Vance	Faculty at large	Jeffrey Bibbee
International Programs/Offerings	Paul Baird	Faculty at large	Claudia Vance
Multicultural Advisory	lan Loeppky	Arts and Sciences	Craig Christy

Multicultural Advisory	Ann Dillon *	Education	Vicky Hulsey
Research	Craig Christy	Faculty at large	Craig Christy
Research	Greg Gaston	Faculty at large	Katie Kinney
Safety & Emer.	Don Roush *	Biology	Lisa Ann Blankinship
Preparedness			
Shared Governance Executive	Sandra Loew	Faculty at large	Darlene Townsend
Strategic Planning & Budget Study	Kristy Van Rensselaer	Faculty at large	Chris Maynard
Student Financial	Mark Lawrence	Faculty at large	Doris McDaniel
Services			
Student Financial	Doris McDaniel	Faculty at large	Kristi Oden
Services			
Technologies Advisory	Bruce Gordon	Business	Bruce Gordon
Technologies Advisory	lan Loeppky	Arts and Sciences	Jason Flynn
Technologies Advisory	Katie Kinney	Education	Katie Kinney
Undergraduate	Jason Briley	Arts and Sciences	Amber Paulk
Readmissions			
Undergraduate	Ruth Dumas *	Education	Janice Myhan
Readmissions			
Undergraduate	Melissa Clark	Business	David Black
Readmissions			

NEW BUSINESS: NONE

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

Senator Lee presented the meeting schedule for next year's senate meetings.

President Townsend presented the gavel to President-Elect Lee who thanked President Townsend for a job well done.

Senator Roden moved the meeting be adjourned. Senator Gaston seconded. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 4:37 p.m.