FACULTY SENATE MINUTES April 24, 2008

The Faculty Senate of the University of North Alabama met April 24, 3008 in the Faculty/Staff Commons of the University Center at 3:30 p.m.

President Turner called the meeting to order and recognized the following proxies:

Will Verrone for Senator Peterson from English, Diane Berry for Senator Summy from Kilby School, Tom Osborne for Senator Rieff from History/Political Science, and Scott Infanger for Senator Adler from Foreign Language.

President Turner welcomed the newly elected senators:

Nicholas Mauriello from English, Tim Carter from Criminal Justice, David Nickels from CIS, Joy Brown from Secondary Education, Marilyn Lee from Nursing, Ian Loeppky from Music, Darlene Townsend from Collier Library, Lynne Rieff from History/Political Science, Pat Roden from Mathematics/Computer Science, John Turner from Art, Mike Hall from Health and Physical Education, and Bruce Gordon from Economics and Finance.

Senator Richardson moved the adoption of the agenda. Senator Bates seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Senator Ferry moved the approval of the April 10, 2008 minutes with the change to item C under Old Business to read: Senator Adams moved that the Faculty Affairs Committee be charged with including language in the promotion policy as that used with tenure and explore developing an assessment tool including criteria for the evaluation of applicants in the tenure/promotion process. Senator Statom seconded. The motion passed.

President Cale welcomed the new senators and stated that he is looking forward to working with the senate in the coming year. He shared information about the education budget. The Governor's budget which was published included an 11%-14 reduction from the current year in funding for the university. The House is following the Governor's lead. This is the worst case scenario. They will be taking money out of the rainy day fund. There is wrangling going on attempting to close the corporate tax structure loop holes. If the bill passes, approximately 700,000 will be restored to our budget. With our enrollment up, he doesn't think we will see a great impact this year but raises may not be as substantial as before. We are as well positioned as any other institution in the state.

Vice President Warren stated that the Office Hour Policy is on the fast track to becoming official policy as it was passed by the senate. Honors Night will be held at the Marriott on Monday night and encouraged the faculty attendance. On May 9 the Distance Learning Best Practices Seminar will be presented. He encouraged the faculty to consider this important issue.

Faculty Attitude Survey Committee Chair, Craig Robertson presented the results with data broken down by colleges. There was a 69% response rate. He asked for the senate to consider the report and request approval to release to the entire faculty electronically. He also encouraged the faculty to use the data related to committee areas or senate issued. The committee members were: Alex Aguado, Gabriela Carrasco, Leslie Peterson and Craig Robertson.

OLD BUSINESS:

- A. Committee Reports: Academic Affairs report: none Faculty Affairs report: later in the meeting
- B. Shared Governance Committee reports none
- C. Tenure/Promotion Policy which has laid before the senate for three meeting failed to be passed.
- D. The following were nominated for the Ad Hoc Standing Faculty Review Committee for portfolio review:
 Jeremy Stafford, Richard Statom, Larry Adams, Katy Kenny, Darlene Townsend, and Wendy Darby. Senator Richardson moved to accept via acclamation the slate nominated. The motion passed.
- E. President Turner thanked the Faculty Affairs Committee for their hard work on the Early Scholars Program questions. The answers to questions were sent by email. There was a consensus of the senate that the faculty of the university needs to be involved in advisement of early scholars.

NEW BUSINESS:

A. The following were elected as 2008-2009 senate officers: Larry Bates – President Ray Atencio – President-elect Pat Roden – Secretary Doris McDaniel – Executive Board Member John Turner – Past President Ruth Dumas – Executive Board Member Wendy Darby – Executive Board Member Jerry Ferry – Executive Board Member

B. Election of Shared Governance Committee Members:

| Academic & Student Affairs | Doug Barrett | Faculty at large |
|----------------------------------|------------------|------------------------------------|
| Academic & Student Affairs | David Muse | Faculty at large |
| Animal Care & Use | Andy Taylor | Faculty at large |
| Animal Care & Use | Lisa Clayton | Faculty at large |
| Athletic | Cynthia Burkhead | Faculty at large |
| Distance Learning Advisory | Bruce Gordon | Business |
| Distance Learning Advisory | Larry Adams | A & S |
| Faculty/Staff Welfare | Nick Mauriello | Faculty at large |
| Faculty/Staff Welfare | Rick Lester | Faculty at large |
| Faculty/Staff Welfare | Janice Myhan | Faculty at large |
| Graphic Standards & Web Page | Bruce Gordon | Faculty at large |
| Human Subjects | Vicky Hulsey | Education |
| Human Subjects | Martha Rock | Nursing |
| Human Subjects | Marilyn Lee | Primary concern nonscientific area |
| Infrastructure Development | Pat Roden | Faculty at large |
| Institutional Effectiveness | Phil Bridgemon | A & S |
| Institutional Effectiveness | Tonja Blackstone | Business |
| International Programs/Offerings | Alex Takeuchi | Business |
| Multicultural Advisory | Ernestine Davis | Nursing |
| Multicultural Advisory | Alyce Brown | Nursing |
| Parking & Traffic | Philip Oliver | Faculty at large |
| Parking & Traffic | Mark Lawrence | Faculty at large |
| Research | Mark Puckett | Faculty at large |
| Safety & Emergency Prep. | Megan Pinch | Art |
| Safety & Emergency Prep. | Scott Infanger | Faculty at large |
| Shared Governance | Linda Armstrong | Faculty at large |
| Shared Governance | Jim Couch | Faculty at large |
| Shared Governance | Terry Richardson | A & S |
| Strategic Planning/Budget Study | Brenda Webb | Faculty at large |
| Student Financial Services | Katie Kenny | Faculty at large |

| Technologies Advisory | Andy Taylor | Library |
|----------------------------|---------------|----------|
| Technologies Advisory | Dan Burton | A & S |
| Undergraduate Curriculum | Ed Joubert | A & S |
| Undergraduate Curriculum | Tim Carter | A & S |
| Undergraduate Curriculum | Anna Lott | A & S |
| Undergraduate Curriculum | Donna Yancey | Business |
| Undergraduate Readmissions | Tom Lovett | Business |
| Undergraduate Readmissions | Lynn Aquadro | Nursing |
| Undergraduate Readmissions | Betty Rickard | Nursing |

C. President Turner recognized SGA President Brewer who presented information about a question asked concerning honor cords worn during graduation. He reported that 49.91% or 532 of the 1066 who responded stated that yes they would like to have the option to wear more honors cords at future Commencement services. Senator Garfrerick moved that the senate endorse the SGA proposal for more honor cords allowed at graduation. The proposal was amended to state only one honor cord of a recognized honor society. Senator Loew moved to suspend the rules in order to vote. Senator Stafford seconded. The motion to suspend the rules passed. The motion on the amended proposal passed with a vote of 17-10-2.

President Turner passed the gavel to Larry Bates and thanked the senate for allowing him to be the senate president this past year.

Senator Roden moved the meeting be adjourned. Senator Adams seconded. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 5:05 p.m.