FACULTY SENATE MINUTES May 6, 2004

The Faculty Senate of the University of North Alabama met May 6, 2004 in the Faculty/Staff Commons of the University Center at 3:30 p.m.

President-Elect Blose called the meeting to order and recognized the new senators. President-Elect Blose recognized the following proxies: Ms. Lynne Butler for Senator Brewton from English, Dr. Barry Morris for Senator Barrett from Economics, Dr. Paul Davison for Senator Richardson from Biology, Ms. Linda Keckley for Senator Ford from Kilby, Dr. Keith Lindley for Senator Adler from Foreign Language, and Dr. Ernest Jobe for Senator Lindsey from Management.

The following senators were present: Adams, Atkinson, Bates, Blose, Bruce, Cai, Crisler, Foote, Gaunder, Holley, Leonard, Loew, Martin, McDaniel, Myhan, Parris, Robinson, Rock, Roden, Takeuchi, Turner, VanRensselaer, Wallace, Ward, and Wilson.

The following senators were absent without proxy: Armstrong, Atencio, Brown, Gaston, Gorham, Makowski, Tunell, and Webb.

Senator Rock moved the adoption of the agenda. Senator Parris seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Senator Martin moved the approval of the April 15, 2004 minutes. Senator Wilson seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

OLD BUSINESS:

- A. The Faculty Affairs Committee of the Faculty Senate reported that the committee met yesterday and is continuing to work on their charge to consider the promotion and tenure policy.
- B. The Shared Governance Committee is meeting each Monday afternoon working on getting committee replacements. The appointments to the shared governance committees will be made by the President.
- C. The Presidential Search Committee consists of 16 members, four faculty members: Lynne Butler, Pat Roden, Doug Barrett and Quinn Pearson, three trustees, two students, one dean, one alumnus, three staff, and two community representatives.
- D. Senator Parris reported the nominations from the Nominations Committee. (See Attachment A) Senator Wilson moved the approval of the nominations and the election of the slate of officers for the Senate Executive Committee. Senator Foote seconded. The motion passed

- unanimously. President-Elect Blose thanked the Nominations Committee for their work.
- E. President-Elect Blose presented a slate of volunteers for the shared governance committees. (See Attachment B) Senator Adams moved the approval of the slate. Senator Parris seconded. The motion passed unanimously.
- F. President-Elect Blose presented a letter with recommendation from Senator Makowski. (See Attachment C) Senator Jobe moved the approval of the recommendation. Senator Butler seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

NEW BUSINESS:

- A. Senator Holley read a Retirement Resolution for Dr. Sarah Brown. (See Attachment D) Senator Parris moved the approval of the resolution. Senator VanRensselaer seconded. The motion passed unanimously.
- B. Senator Lindley read a Retirement Resolution for Dr. Max Gartman. (See Attachment E) Senator Martin moved the approval of the resolution. Senator Lindley seconded. The motion passed unanimously.
- C. Senator Adams read a Retirement Resolution for Mrs. Janice Glor. (See Attachment F) Senator Loew moved the approval of the resolution. Senator Bates seconded. The motion passed unanimously.
- D. Senator Myhan read a Retirement Resolution for Dr. Karen Goldstein. (See Attachment G) Senator Wallace moved the approval of the resolution. Senator Parris seconded. The motion passed unanimously.
- E. Senator Loew read a Retirement Resolution for Dr. Felice Green. (See Attachment H) Senator Wilson moved the approval of the resolution. Senator Wallace seconded. The motion passed unanimously.
- F. Senator Keckley read a Retirement Resolution for Dr. Fred Hattabaugh. (See Attachment I) Senator Parris moved the approval of the resolution. Senator Loew seconded. The motion passed unanimously.
- G. Senator Cai read a Retirement Resolution for Mr. Tom Risher. (See Attachment J) Senator Wilson moved the approval of the resolution. Senator Keckley seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

President-Elect Blose expressed anticipation of the coming year in the senate.

Senator Roden moved the meeting be adjourned. Senator Bates seconded. The motion passed unanimously.