### FACULTY SENATE MINUTES May 9, 2002

The University of North Alabama Faculty Senate met May 9, 2002 in the Faculty Lounge of the University Center at 3:30 p.m.. President Thorne called the meeting to order.

President Thorne recognized the following proxies:

- Ms. Kathy Wallace for Senator Warren from Kilby,
- Dr. John Light for Senator Stokes for Elementary Education, and
- Dr. Brent Elliot for Senator Blose from Physics.

The following senators were present: Adler, Alexander, Allan, Atkinson, Barrett, Bobek, Butler, Figueroa, Foote, Gothard, Haggerty, Himmler, Holley, Hudiburg, Keckley, Loew, Makowski, McDaniel, Menapace, Miley, Osborne, Roden, Ruebhausen, Smith, Thorne, Tunell, Turner, VanRensselaer, Webb, J. Wilson, P. Wilson, and Young.

The following senators were absent without proxy: Williams and Winston.

Senator Hudiburg moved the adoption of the agenda with the amendment of moving the Shared Governance Task Force to be considered after Announcements. Senator Barrett seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Senator Butler moved the approval of the minutes of the April 19, 2002 meeting. Senator Allan seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

### ANNOUNCEMENTS:

- A. President Thorne recognized the new and reelected senators: Foote, Lowe, Makowski, Osborne, Roden, Tunell, Turner, VanRensselaer, Atkinson, McDaniel, Webb, and Gothard.
- B. President Thorne presented a copy of a resolution from ACUFP concerning the funding of education which was sent to all candidates and newspapers. (See Attachment A)

### TASK FORCE ON SHARED GOVERNANCE:

Dr. Craig Christy spoke on behalf of the Shared Governance document. He stated that this document is a result of study from other institutions, the AAUP Statement on Governance, and the AGB Statement on Governance. Dr. Christy stated that he has met with the SGA and received unanimous endorsement and with the Staff Council, receiving approval of the document as well. Questions were raised concerning what happens after endorsement by the faculty in principle. He stated that the Task Force has a meeting scheduled with President Potts tomorrow at 2:00 p.m. to inform him of the opinions of the faculty, staff, and students. If President Potts presents the document to the Board of Trustees, we can hopefully start implementation in September. Questions were raised about the VPAA being a non-voting member on the Strategic and Budget Planning Committee, about how the administration is really responsible to the shared governance, and the role of the Faculty Senate in this process. Senator Hudiburg moved that the Senate support the Shared Governance Document in principle with reservations. Senator Osborne seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

# OLD BUSINESS:

A. Dr. Bruce Gordon, presented a report from the Faculty Affairs Committee concerning the use of Temporary and Non-Tenure Track employment. He stated that the committee found that their use if in line with what other institutions are doing. Most are one-year appoints but there are some multi-year contracts. The committee recommended that the university develop a policy to formalize the process and limitations. The Faculty Affairs Committee will continue to work toward such a policy.

### **NEW BUSINESS:**

- A. Senator Hudiburg presented a final report from the Faculty Attitude Survey Committee. This represented the written comments and the separate tabulation of the questions concerning the Deans. President Thorne will email the report to the faculty.
- B. The Nominating Committee consisting of Senator Butler, Senator Barrett, and Senator Osborne, chair, moved the approval of the following slate of officers:

President	George Makowski
President-elect	Doug Barrett
Secretary	Pat Roden
Board Member	Dennis Tunell
Board Member	John Turner
والمستعيم والمستنب واللمنا والسيار والمستعمر	al the most in the most in the second reservation of the second

Senator Hudiburg seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

C. The following senate representatives were elected to university committees:

## COMMITTEE

Athletic Catalog and Grad. Bulletin Commencement Convocations Dennis Tunell Bob Allan Bob Young Lynn Butler

NOMINEE

Curriculum Display of Faculty Pub. **Distance Learning Enrollment Planning** Facilities Faculty Handbook General Studies Homecoming International Programs Library Multicultural Advisory Parking and Traffic Planning and Inst. Effectiveness Readmissions Research Safety and Emer. Preparedness **Student Financial Services** Student Publication Technologies Advisory **Compliance Committee** 

John Light Doug Barrett Dan Heimmerman Vince Brewton Crescente Figueroa Brenda Webb 1yr. Nancy Atkinson 2 yr. Craig Robertson Pat Roden Robert Adler Larry Adams Alex Takeuchi Linda Keckley Pete Williams Dennis Tunell Ruth Dumas Janet McMullen Lynn Butler Jerry Miley Brent Elliot **Richard Hudiburg** 

D. Senators Figueroa, Webb, and Allan volunteered to work on the Faculty Picnic Committee.

President Thorne thanked the senators for their work during this year. Senator Adler moved the meeting be adjourned. Senator Roden seconded. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.