FACULTY SENATE MINUTES February 12, 2002

The University of North Alabama Faculty Senate met February 12, 2002 in the Faculty Lounge of the University Center at 3:30 p.m. President Thorne called the meeting to order.

President Thorne recognized the following proxies:

Dr. Mike Hall for Senator Tunell from HPER, Dr. Brian Thompson for Senator Blose from Physics, Ms. Cathleen Wakefield for Senator J. Wilson from Human Environmental Science, and Dr. Lavin Rowe for Senator P. Wilson from Nursing.

The following senators were present: Alexander, Allan, Barrett, Bobek, Butler, Dumas, Figueroa, Foote, Haggerty, Himmler, Holley, Hudiburg, Johnson, Loew, Makowski, Menapace, Osborne, Roden, Ruebhausen, Smith, Stokes, Turner, VanRensselaer, Warren, Winston, and Young.

The following senators were absent without proxy: Adler, Keckley, Miley, Oliver, and Williams.

Senator Barrett moved the adoption of the agenda with the addition of three resolutions of appreciation. Senator Hudiburg seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Senator Johnson moved the approval of the January 24, 2002 minutes. Senator Barrett seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

- A. President Thorne reported that the Faculty Attitude Survey Committee has solicited input from the faculty and is working on the survey for this year.
- B. President Thorne reported that the Repeat/Recompute policy has been sent back to the SGA for consideration.
- C. President Thorne reported that the Higher Education Partnership has created some tasking which has created some problems:
 - 1. A contest between the faculty and the SGA to get signatures on a petition.
 - 2. The creation of a council of Faculty Presidents when one already exists, namely ACUFP.
 - President Thorne pointed out to President Potts that this is not the role of the Higher Education Partnership.

D. President Thorne declared the second Music Department Senate seat to be vacant. Both Music Department seats are now vacant and will be not be filled until next year.

OLD BUSINESS:

Senator Osborne moved to approve the policy concerning donation of sick leave. Senator Makowski seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

NEW BUSINESS:

- A. Senator Makowski moved to suspend the rules and approve a resolution concerning promotions (See Attachment A) Senator Allan seconded. The motion passed unanimously.
- B. President Thorne reported on a Draft Policy on Temporary to Tenure Track Employment. The wording was changed from "may request" to "elect" concerning the utilization of temporary years counting toward the tenure decision.
- Senator Alexander moved the approval of the resolution of appreciation for Dr. Margie Crocker. Senator Barrett seconded. The motion passed unanimously. (See Attachment B)
- D. Senator Bobek moved the approval of the resolution of appreciation for Dr. Frenesi Wilson. Senator Stokes seconded. The motion passed unanimously. (See Attachment C)
- E. Senator Barrett moved the approval of the resolution of appreciation for Dr. Michael Butler. Senator Allan seconded. The motion passed unanimously. (See Attachment D)

Senator Butler moved the meeting be adjourned. Senator Roden seconded. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m.