Faculty Senate Minutes

May 2, 2024

Call to order:

A regular meeting of the University of North Alabama's Faculty Senate convened via MS Teams Video Conferencing at 3.30pm with President Killen presiding.

I. Recognized Proxies

Ms. Jackie Allen for Senator O'Neal Senator Burton for Senator Makowski

Members in attendance

Wael Al-Kouz, Lisa Ann Blankinship, Sidney Blaylock, Miranda Bowie, Charles Brooks, Keli Brothers, Danny Burton, Corey Cagle, Gabriela Carrasco, Justin Carter, Jian Chen, Freda Coleman-Reed, Helen Coronel, James DaSambiagio-Moore, Frank Diaz, Ravi Gollapalli, Anissa Graham, Leah Graham, Einar Gudmundsson, John Hodges, Rebecca Hopkins, Andrea Hunt, Ann-Marie Irons, Faith Kelley, Lauren Killen, Kelly Latchaw, Tom Lukowicz, Stephanie Montgomery, Andrea Nate, Gary Padgett, Andrew Potter, Chris Purser, Robert Rausch, Suzanne Reese Mills, Beverly Russell, Justin Scott, Darlene Townsend, Wendy Wang, Gretchen Windt, Ping Zhao

Members not in attendance

Michael Conner, Jason Imbrogno, Mark Greer, Angel Tomlinson, Christina Volz-Stomackin

II. Approval of the Agenda

Motion to approve the agenda was made by Senator Carter; seconded by Senator Latchaw. No discussion. The agenda was approved as presented by raised hand [Y22: O0].

III. Approval of Minutes from the April 11, 2024

Motion to approve the minutes was made by Senator Gollapalli; seconded by Senator L. Graham. Senator Bowie requested modifications of formatting for time/ date (section IX). The amended agenda was approved by raised hand [Y29: O0]

IV. Elections

Elections were held for the following open positions:

- a. Faculty Vacancies on Shared Governance Committee Beginning in Fall 2024
- b. Faculty Vacancies on Shared Governance Committees Due to Upcoming Retirements or Resignations
- c. Faculty Vacancies on Committees that Function Outside of Shared Governance Structure
- d. Faculty Pool for Grievance Committees
- e. Faculty Pool for Due Process Committees
- f. Faculty Pool for University -Wide Promotion and Tenure Portfolio Review Committee
- g. Faculty Senate Officers (Executive Committee)
 - i. President Elect: Justin Carter
 - ii. Secretary: Lisa Ann Blankinship

- iii. Committee Member At-Large (1): Gabriela Carrasco
- iv. Committee Member At-Large (2): Gary Padgett

V. Transfer of the Gavel

Faculty Senate President Killen will deliver the gavel to Incoming Faculty Senate President Hunt.

VI. Adjourn

Motion to adjourn was made by Senator Bowie and seconded by Senator A. Graham. Meeting adjourned at 4.56pm.