APPLY! REQUEST

Advisement

To navigate quickly to your area of interest, click a link below:

Elementary Education Advisors

Secondary Education Advisors

Elementary Education Undergraduate Advisors

All elementary education majors have only one advisor. Elementary education candidates are assigned advisors according to the first letter of your last name:

 If your last name
begins with the letter:

Your advisor is:

Email

Phone Number

A-B

Dr. Linda Armstrong

ljarmstrong@una.edu

(256) 765-4230

C-F

Dr. Lisa H. Clayton

lhclayton@una.edu

(256) 765-4732

G-H

Ms. Madonna Choat

mechoat@una.edu

(256) 765-4728

I-M

Dr. Lorie Johnson

ljohnson15@una.edu

(256) 765-4723

N-R

Dr. Janice Myhan

jgmyhan@una.edu

(256) 765-4859

S-Z

Dr. Bob Young

rdyoung@una.edu

(256) 765-4327

Special Education

Dr. Trudy Abel

tabel@una.edu

(256) 765-5610

Elementary Education Graduate Advisors

All elementary education majors have only one advisor. Elementary education candidates are assigned advisors according to the first letter of your last name:

 If your last name
begins with the letter:

Your advisor is:

Email

Phone Number

A-F

Dr. Linda Armstrong

ljarmstrong@una.edu

(256) 765-4230

G-L

Dr. Lisa H. Clayton

lhclayton@una.edu

(256) 765-4732

M-R

Dr. Lorie Johnson

ljohnson15@una.edu

(256) 765-4723

S-Z

Dr. Janice Myhan

jgmyhan@una.edu

(256) 765-4859

Special Education

Dr. Natalia Koureava

nkoureava@una.edu

(908) 456-0380

 Secondary Education Advisors

Secondary Education candidates are assigned two advisors: one from the College of Education and Human Sciences and one from the content area. All secondary education candidates should see the chair of the department or designated faculty member in the College of Arts and Sciences or the College of Business for advisement in their major field(s). You are encouraged to know and work closely with your faculty advisor(s) regarding academic and professional matters. See below for the most current list of advisors:

 Education Advisors

If your teaching field is:

Your advisor is:

Email

Phone Number

Alternative A (5th Year) Programs 

Dr. Leah Whitten

lswhitten@una.edu

(256) 765-4686 

Biology

Dr. Jessica Mitchell

jmitchell12@una.edu

(256) 765-5212

Business Marketing

Dr. Gary Padgett

gpadgett@una.edu

(256) 765-5842

Chemistry

Dr. Jessica Mitchell

jmitchell12@una.edu

(256) 765-5212

English Language Arts

Dr. Gary Padgett

gpadgett@una.edu

(256) 765-5842

English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) 

Dr. Joy Brown 

jmbrown@una.edu

 (256) 765-4837

Family Consumer Sciences

Dr. Joy Brown

jmbrown@una.edu

(256) 765-4837

Foreign Languages (French, German, Spanish)

Dr. Gary Padgett

gpadgett@una.edu

(256) 765-5842

General Science

Dr. Jessica Mitchell

jmitchell12@una.edu

(256) 765-5212

General Social Science

Dr. Lamont Maddox

lmaddox@una.edu

(256) 765-5187

Geography

Dr. Lamont Maddox

lmaddox@una.edu

(256) 765-5187

History

Dr. Lamont Maddox

lmaddox@una.edu

(256) 765-5187

Instructional Leadership 

Dr. Felecia Harris 

fyharris@una.edu

 (256) 765-4309

Mathematics

Dr. Joy Brown

jmbrown@una.edu

(256) 765-4837

Music, Choral

Dr. Jeff Cornelius

jdcornelius@una.edu

(256) 765-4619

Music, Instrumental

Dr. Jeff Cornelius

jdcornelius@una.edu

(256) 765-4619

Physical Education

Dr. Joy Brown

jmbrown@una.edu

(256) 765-4837

Physics

Dr. Jessica Mitchell

jmitchell12@una.edu

(256) 765-5212

Teacher Leader (emphasis on grades 6-12)

Dr. Jeff Cornelius

jdcornelius@una.edu

(256) 765-4619

Visual Arts

Dr. Joy Brown

jmbrown@una.edu

(256) 765-4837

Undecided Education

Dr. Jessica Mitchell

jmitchell12@una.edu

(256) 765-5212

Content Area Advisors

If your teaching field is:

Department Chair is:

Email

Phone Number

Biology

Dr. Thomas Haggerty

tmhaggerty@una.edu

(256) 765-4432

Business Marketing

Dr. Jana Beaver

jbeaver@una.edu

(256) 765-4938

Chemistry

Dr. Brent Olive

bsolive@una.edu

(256) 765-4215

English Language Arts

Dr. Cynthia Burkhead

caburkhead@una.edu

(256) 765-4790

 English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)

Dr. Joy Brown 

jmbrown@una.edu

 (256) 765-4837

Family Consumer Sciences

Ms. Kendra McLain

ksmclain@una.edu

(256) 765-4483

Foreign Languages (French, German, Spanish)

Dr. Claudia Vance

cpvance@una.edu

(256) 765-4501

General Science

Dr. Brenda Webb

bhwebb@una.edu

(256) 765-4130

General Social Science

Dr. Jeffrey Bibbee

jrbibbee@una.edu

(256) 765-4533

Geography

Dr. Francis Koti

ftkoti@una.edu

(256) 765-4219

History

Dr. Jeffrey Bibbee

jrbibbee@una.edu

(256) 765-4533

Mathematics

Dr. Cynthia Stenger

clstenger@una.edu

(256) 765-4287

Music, Choral

Dr. Terrance Brown

tbrown5@una.edu

(256) 765-4570

Music, Instrumental

Dr. Terrance Brown

tbrown5@una.edu

(256) 765-4570

Physical Education

Dr. Tom Coates

tecoates@una.edu

(256) 765-4378

Physics

Dr. Brenda Webb

bhwebb@una.edu

(256) 765-4130

Visual Arts

Ms. Chiong Chen

cchen@una.edu

(256) 765-4384