The University Success Center

University Advising Services

University Advising Services

When you want to improve your study skills, you can attend one of the study skills workshops offered free for UNA students. Study skills workshops focus on improving:

Study Skills Workshops

Please join us for one or all of the Study Skills workshops during the Spring 2014 semester. These sessions will be held in Room 109 of Raburn Hall and are free to all currently enrolled UNA students. Each session will last approximately 50 minutes. Check below for the time and location of the workshops that will benefit you.

Time Management

Thursday, February 13th at 2:30 p.m.
Wednesday, March 5th at 12 Noon

Memory and Concentration

Wednesday, February 12th at 12 Noon

Test Taking

Thursday, February 27th at 2:30 p.m.

Reading a Textbook

Thursday, January 30th at 2:30 p.m.
Wednesday, February 19th at 12 Noon
Thursday, March 6th at 2:30 p.m.

Test Anxiety

Wednesday, February 5th at 12 Noon
Thursday, February 20th at 2:30 p.m.

Taking Notes

Thursday, February 6th at 2:30 p.m.
Wednesday, February 26th at 12 Noon

"Best of" Study Skills

In case you missed the others we will provide a condensed version of all of them.

Wednesday, March 12th at 12 Noon
Thursday, March 13th at 2:30 p.m.

If you don't find a workshop that fits into your schedule, please take a look at the PowerPoint Presentations linked below. Please make sure to view the notes section at the bottom of each slide for more information about the topic.

Student studying

Concentration and Memory [PPT]

Note Taking [PPT]

Test Anxiety [PPT]

Test Preparation [PPT]

Textbook Reading [PPT]

Time Management [PPT]

 

If you would like help with your study skills one-on-one, please contact the Learning Support Coordinator. You can stop by the University Advising Services office located in The Commons on the 2nd floor or call 256.765.4722 to discuss a tailor-made approach to improving your study skills.

 

Success Center Staff

Dr. Robert Koch Jr.

University Success Center Director

Center for Writing Excellence Director

The Commons 223

256.765.4131

rtkoch@una.edu

 

Ms. Tammy D. Rhodes

Administrative Assistant

The Commons 204

256.765.4722

256.765.4764 (FAX)

tdrhodes@una.edu

 

Dr. Amy E. Crews

University Advising Services Director

Active Suspension Coordinator

The Commons 221

256.765.4437

aecrews@una.edu

 

Mr. Matthew Little

First-Year Experience Director

The Commons 215

256.765.4133

clittle3@una.edu

 

Dr. Kathleen Richards

Center for Writing Excellence

Assistant Director

The Commons 219

256.765.6015

karichards@una.edu

 

Prof. Marlow B. McCullough

Mathematics Learning Center Director

The Commons 217

256.765.4213

mmccullough@una.edu

 

Dr. Matt Price

Learning Support Coordinator

The Commons 220

256.765.5949

mprice2@una.edu

 

Ms. Kenda H. Rusevlyan

Testing Coordinator

University Advisor

The Commons 214

256.765.4773

khrusevlyan@una.edu

 

Ms. Elizabeth C. Haggerty

University Advisor

The Commons 213

256.765.4722

echaggerty@una.edu

 

Donate to USC