ss-ts

University Advising Services

When you want to improve your study skills or adjustments to campus, you can attend one of the workshops offered free for UNA students. The available workshops focus on improving:

  • Time management skills;
  • Understanding Learning Style;
  • Goal Setting skills;
  • Note taking skills;
  • Transition to University;
  • The Study Cycle; and
  • Networking at the University.

Study Skills Workshops

Please join us for one or all of the Study Skills workshops during the Spring 2014 semester. These sessions will be held on the second floor of The Commons building and are free to all currently enrolled UNA students. Each session will last approximately one hour. Check below for the time and location of the workshops that will benefit you.

Time Management

Thursday, October 23, 3-4 pm in Commons 227

What Kind of Learner are You?

Wednesday, October 1, 2-3 pm in Commons 208
Monday, November 3, 1-2 pm in Commons 208

Transitioning to the University

Monday, October 13, 3-4 pm in Commons 227
Wednesday, November 12, 3-4 in Commons 227

Goal Setting

Monday, October 20, 2-3 pm in Commons 208
Tuesday, November 4, 11 am -12 pm in Commons 208

Networking the University

Wednesday, October 15, 2-3 pm in Commons 208
Tuesday, November 11, 3:30-4:30 pm in Commons 227

Note Taking Strategies

Thursday, October 16, 2-3 pm in Commons 208
Wednesday, November 12, 2-3 pm in Commons 227

Study Cycle

Monday, September 29, 3-4 pm in Commons 227
Tuesday, October 21, 2:30-3:30 pm in Commons 227

 

If you don't find a workshop that fits into your schedule, please take a look at the PowerPoint Presentations linked below. Please make sure to view the notes section at the bottom of each slide for more information about the topic.

Student studying

Memory and Concentration [PPT]

Note Taking [PPT]

Test Anxiety [PPT]

Test Preparation [PPT]

Textbook Reading [PPT]

Time Management [PPT]

 

If you would like help with your study skills one-on-one, please contact Dr. Matt Price, UNA's Learning Support Coordinator, by sending an email to mprice2@una.edu, or calling 256.765.5949.

Dr. Robert Koch Jr.
University Success Center Director
Center for Writing Excellence Director
The Commons 223
256.765.4131
rtkoch@una.edu

Ms. Tammy D. Rhodes
Administrative Assistant
The Commons 204
256.765.4722
256.765.4764 (FAX)
tdrhodes@una.edu

Dr. Amy E. Crews
University Advising Services Director
Active Suspension Coordinator
The Commons 221
256.765.4437
aecrews@una.edu

Mr. Matthew Little
First-Year Experience Director
The Commons 215
256.765.4133
clittle3@una.edu

Dr. Kathleen Richards
Center for Writing Excellence
Assistant Director
The Commons 219
256.765.6015
karichards@una.edu

Prof. Marlow B. McCullough
Mathematics Learning Center Director
The Commons 217
256.765.4213
mmccullough@una.edu

Dr. Matt Price
Learning Support Coordinator
The Commons 220
256.765.5949
mprice2@una.edu

Ms. Kenda H. Rusevlyan
Testing Coordinator
University Advisor
The Commons 214
256.765.4773
khrusevlyan@una.edu

Ms. Elizabeth C. Haggerty
University Advisor
The Commons 213
256.765.4722
echaggerty@una.edu

Donate to USC