APPLY! REQUEST

Seminar

The seminar is a critical component of the First-Year Experience, where you will meet new people, connect with faculty and staff, and discover the UNA and Shoals communities.

FYE Seminars are themed, one-hour classes that may be attached to one or two of your required general education courses. Themes generally involve possibilities for majors, such as Nursing, History, or the Sciences. Seminar instructors determine the activities and assignments of the course, often times with your input, so your participation is important. In the past, activities have included:

  • Visits to campus and community locations of importance
  • Class discussions on current events
  • Guest presentations
  • Additional study sessionsFYE Flag

When you arrive at SOAR this summer, be sure to ask your advisor to place you in the seminar that is right for you. Space is limited, so the sooner you get to orientation the more likely you are to get into your first choice. Click the link to view a list of the Fall 2014 FYE Learning Community Seminars.

Dr. Robert Koch Jr.
University Success Center Director
Center for Writing Excellence Director
The Commons 223
256.765.4131
rtkoch@una.edu

Ms. Tammy D. Rhodes
Administrative Assistant
The Commons 204
256.765.4722
256.765.4764 (FAX)
tdrhodes@una.edu

Dr. Amy E. Crews
University Advising Services Director
Active Suspension Coordinator
The Commons 221
256.765.4437
aecrews@una.edu 

Mr. Matthew Little
First-Year Experience Director
The Commons 215
256.765.4133
clittle3@una.edu 

Dr. Kathleen Richards
Center for Writing Excellence
Assistant Director
The Commons 219
256.765.6015
karichards@una.edu 

Prof. Marlow B. McCullough
Mathematics Learning Center Director
The Commons 217
256.765.4213
mmccullough@una.edu 

Dr. Matt Price
Learning Support Coordinator
Academic Advisor
The Commons 220
256.765.5949
mprice2@una.edu 

Ms. Kenda H. Rusevlyan
Testing Coordinator
University Advisor
The Commons 214
256.765.4773
khrusevlyan@una.edu 

Ms. Elizabeth C. Haggerty
University Advisor
The Commons 213
256.765.4722
echaggerty@una.edu

 

Donate to USC